My Week Of Twitter

I began my week of Twitter very sceptically.  It seemed to be a completely useless services.  I didn’t understand why people needed to update their status every time they did something.  I’m the kind of person who checks facebook once a week and all most never updates my status.  I found myself frustrated.  Why did I have to do this stupid thing.  I had things to do, places to go and people to talk to face to face.  But I needed to contact Dr. Nixon, so I sent her a tweet on line and she got back to me within the hour.  It was impresive  how fast our communication wasand I started to think that it was a good tool for that specific purpose.  I still didn’t like it.  The website seemed utterly useless in any other respect.  I was angry that I had to do a week of this, my work, class and rehearsal schedule made it very hard to update.  When I found time to actually tweet, I found myself forcing useless statements that I knew no one cared about.  But I saw everyone else was communicating and telling each about their day.  I also found that I was being fallowed by people I hadn’t spoken to in a long time.  One day in class I saw that the student in front of me was fallowing Paula Dean.  She was thrilled by this, and I was happy for her.  This is when it occurred to me.  These interacts are what bring us together, what allows us to be a part of each others lives.  I don’t think that I’m the kind of person who is apt at using social networking sites.  I don’t use them very often, but I know that there are many that do and that is why I respect them.  I guess what I’m saying is that I’ll keep using Twitter.

One response to this post.

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Twitter. It does take some time to get used to using it. Glad to hear you plan on continuing using the service.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

